CABINET MEMBER FOR EDUCATION & WELSH LANGUAGE

FRIDAY, 29 September 2023

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Cabinet Member).

The following officers were in attendance:

J. Owens, Democratic Services Officer

Virtual Meeting - 9.00 - 9.15 am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. TO SIGN AS A CORRECT RECORD THE DECISION RECORD OF THE MEETING HELD ON THE 7TH JULY 2023

RESOLVED that the decision record of the meeting held on the 7th July 2023 be signed as a correct record.

3. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

The Cabinet Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. Nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was noted that Local Authority Governors are appointed for 4 years, and where the vacancy has occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

It was also noted that all County Councillors, when elected, could stipulate which school governing bodies they would sit, and their decision would take preference over 'non-elected' LA Governors. Consequently, County Councillors could nominate to serve as LA Governors on a school that did not have a vacant post and in the event of the governorship becoming oversubscribed, the Council would stipulate which LA Governor was required to stand down.



RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments
Cwrt Henri, Ffairfach & Talley (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs A Hughes
Dewi Sant (3 x vacancy -2 current and one from 4 th November 2023 - 2 nominations)	Mr E Jones Mr D Picken
Maes y Morfa (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr A Muszynski
Gymraeg Rhydaman (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Dr. S Page
Saron (1 vacancy from 22 nd November 2023 – 1 nomination)	Cllr. Karen Davies
Stebonheath (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Ms S Farrell
Trimsaran (1 vacancy from 4 th November 2023 – 1 nomination)	Mr R Sully
Tycroes (1 vacancy from 22 nd November 2023 – 1 nomination)	Cllr. Tina Higgins
Y Felin (1 vacancy from 30th November 2023 – 1 nomination)	Mr H Richards

Secondary School	Appointments
Bro Myrddin (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mr R Jones
Coedcae (1 x vacancy – 2 nominations)	Cllr. Janet Williams
Emlyn (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mr J Rix
QEHS (4 x vacancy - 3 current and one from 7 th December 2023 - 2 nominations)	Cllr. Russell Sparks Mr J Russell
St John Lloyd (1 vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mr A Jones



CABINET MEMBER	DATE

